Overview: What are we talking about?
The Merge function is useful when duplicate animal profiles are accidentally created. It allows you to take duplicate animal profiles and merge them into one.
This article includes:
Helpful Hints: Before you begin.
- Merging animal accounts is done at your own risk, as it cannot be undone.
- The following pet information will be merged:
- Reservations for animals will be combined from each animal record.
- The birth date, breed, immunization records, feeding schedules, medication schedules, notes, incidents, etc. of the animals on the second (final) owner account will remain and those on the first (merged) owner account will be deleted.
- ****Do not merge accounts for currently checked-in pets as this can cause errors*****
- All admin users have access to the admin page controlling these settings. Additionally, admin users are able to delegate this particular admin page to other user groups. Non-admin users with access to this page will be able to make edits that affect all locations in the app. For more information see our article on User Groups and Permissions.
Step 1: Identify the duplicates
The first animal you choose will be the one that "goes away". The second one will remain as the merged record. Be sure to look over both accounts to see if there are any differences and determine which record should be kept.
If the animal records you're merging have exactly the same name, consider modifying the name of the record you want to "go away." This can help you be sure to select them in the correct order.
Step 2: Merge the duplicates
- Navigate to: Left-hand Navigation: Admin » Merge Data
- Merge this animal: The first animal you choose will be the one that "goes away"
- Into this animal: The second one will remain as the merged record